Skip to content
November 25, 2008 / fayafshar

Google has done it again with Gmail themes

I just wanted to mention how impressed i am with the new Themes introduced by Gmail earlier this week!

I was initially impressed by Googles approach to email, when they first released Gmail years ago (i forget how long ago it was now, but i was sitting in a lab at my university when a friend sent me an invite. At that stage it was by invitation only).

And i am still surprised to see people use Hotmail or Yahoo. I always wonder to myself “Don’t these people see how much easier it is to use Gmail?”. I myself could no longer be bothered to delete hundreds of spam daily from my Hotmail account, which effectively had no spam control (although they claimed they did). 

I later found out that Hotmail had introduced a new field I’m my settings called something like “Share my email address with other companies” which they had conveniently TICKED on my behalf!!!

So i figured i had nothing to lose by trying Gmail. And i was pleasantly surprised when my inbox was no longer flooding with unwanted mail.

Plus the masive storage space they provided ( i think 2 gig initially compare to the other webmails who offered 200mb) meant i no longer had to delete any emails! Plus i could search all my mail, which gave me a warm and fuzzy feeling (lame i know but it makes the user feel secure)!

I also loved their approach to handling multiple emails between 2 people, by listing them under one conversation! Makes scanning your inbox so much simpler.

Then comes the Themes!

That was then and this is now, and im really enjoying my gmail themes!

gmail-theme1

As you can see i currently have the Candy theme set just for fun, but if thats too much for you, then you can also select from one of the or toned down designs.

While i was on Twitter however, i heard afew people complain that they did not like the new themes, so i guess im interested in hearing why/why not?

Are you one of those people that do not like the themes?

Im interested in hearing your comments!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Iguanasan / Nov 26 2008 10:27 pm

    Honestly, I can’t imagine why anyone would not like the new themes other than their desperate attempt to avoid change. People like things the way they always were. It’s more comfortable and less thought is required. Besides if they don’t like the themes then they can always select “classic” and be done with it.

  2. fayafshar / Nov 27 2008 8:47 am

    Iguanasan, i totally agree with you.
    People are afraid of change, which explains why so many people are still using IE and have not yet embraced other browsers.
    Im blogging about Chrome next!

    Thanks for your comment!

  3. fayafshar / Nov 28 2008 1:39 pm

    This is soo cool!
    I just signed into Gmail to find that my in “Candy” theme which was sunny yesterday, its now raining!

    And a look outside at the rain makes me wonder if its a coincidence??!

  4. Armin / Dec 16 2008 11:43 pm

    Hey dat was a great compliment for google.you might get a job offer from google very soon! u never know..google sees everyting 🙂

Leave a Reply

